The Peaceful Wife Respect Dare, Day 4, A Godly Purpose Statement -BB

1 Corinthians 13:4-8 Amplified Bible (AMP)
Love endures with patience and serenity, love is kind and thoughtful, and is not jealous or envious; love does not brag and is not proud or arrogant. It is not rude; it is not self-seeking, it is not provoked [nor overly sensitive and easily angered]; it does not take into account a wrong enduredIt does not rejoice at injustice, but rejoices with the truth [when right and truth prevail].Love bears all things [regardless of what comes], believes all things [looking for the best in each one], hopes all things [remaining steadfast during difficult times], endures all things [without weakening].
Love never fails [it never fades nor ends]. But as for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for the gift of special knowledge, it will pass away.
Philippians 4:4-8, 13 Amplified Bible (AMP)
Rejoice in the Lord always [delight, take pleasure in Him]; again I will say, rejoice! Let your gentle spirit [your graciousness, unselfishness, mercy, tolerance, and patience] be known to all people. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious or worried about anything, but in everything [every circumstance and situation] by prayer and petition with thanksgiving, continue to make your [specific] requests known to God. And the peace of God [that peace which reassures the heart, that peace] which transcends all understanding, [that peace which] stands guard over your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus [is yours].
Finally, [a]believers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable and worthy of respect, whatever is right and confirmed by God’s word, whatever is pure and wholesome, whatever is lovely and brings peace, whatever is admirable and of good repute; if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think continually on these things [center your mind on them, and implant them in your heart].
13 I can do all things [which He has called me to do] through Him who strengthens and empowers me [to fulfill His purpose—I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency; I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him who infuses me with inner strength and confident peace.]-
Galatians 5:22-23 Amplified Bible (AMP)
22 But the fruit of the Spirit [the result of His presence within us] is love [unselfish concern for others], joy, [inner] peace, patience [not the ability to wait, but how we act while waiting], kindness, goodness, faithfulness,23 gentleness, self-control. Against such things there is no law.
PHILIPPIANS 4:8
Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is worthy of respect, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if something is excellent or praiseworthy, think about these things.21

Nina Roesner has an amazing idea in Day 4’s dare! Her assignment is for us to write a “positive, present-tensed purpose statement of who you think God has planned for you to be” in your marriage. She suggests using the results of the test from yesterday – you can use the results from her questions or you can use Part 2 of the godly wife test on my blog yesterday as inspiration or  portions of scripture may help you decide what to write: 1 Cor 13:4-8, Phil 4:4-8,13, Galatians 5:22-23. What I would like for you to do is write down what you believe God wants you to be as a woman and as a wife and how He desires you to act in your marriage 4 months from now. I like Nina’s suggestions to use present tense, ie “I am” not “I want to be” or “I should be.”  And I like her suggestions to write positive statements, not negative statements like “I don’t” or “I won’t.”

I am a child of God; I am on my walk with God and learning about how much God loves me. At this time I have much to learn, but I desire to be all God has planned for me to be. I am a good wife to my husband and am learning to be a great wife; I have much room for improvement. I feel God has a ministry for me as a good wife. I am allowing God to work in me, removing misconceptions I learned and had lived. I pray continuously all day and depend on God to answer my prayers as He sees best for me. I am making an effort to make more prayer time in my life and learn to fully lean on God in all things. I do my best to set an atmosphere of peace in our home.  Most of the time our home is emotionally and spiritually an oasis and sanctuary for my husband; I am working to make it more so. I appreciate my husband and am thankful for him on a daily basis. If my husband has concerns, I listen to him carefully and try to cooperate with his wisdom. I view suffering as an opportunity to grow in my faith and to draw nearer to Christ and shine for Him. I will whine less about circumstances that are less than favorable. When my husband is having a bad day, I try to think of something I can do to cheer him up, surprise him or take some stress off of his shoulders I like serving my husband.  It’s an honor.  I’m glad to do it. I see the good in my husband, and use my words to praise, encourage and affirm him. I am thankful for the chance to make our house a home and to take care of it.  It is a way I show love and respect for my husband. I am very careful not to develop close friendships with other men. I guard and protect my heart and my marriage. I speak highly of my husband to other people. I have faith in my husband.  I know I can trust him in most ways. I am working to rebuild lost trust and I want to learn to fully trust him again. I have faith that God will lead me through my husband, even if my husband sometimes makes mistakes. I trust God to speak to my husband and grow him spiritually without me having to verbally prod him or lecture my husband about spiritual things.  If my husband is far from God right now, I don’t talk about spiritual things, the Bible or church.  I allow my glowing joy in Christ, my spirit of willing cooperation with my husband’s leadership and my genuine respect for the good in my husband to draw him to Christ.  I trust God to open my husband’s spiritual eyes.  I know that only God can change people and waken them to His truth. I trust most of my husband’s decisions and cooperate with him often. I try to have a spirit of saying, “yes!” to things that are important to my husband. I give myself freely and joyfully to my husband sexually.  I don’t withhold myself. I trust God will replace my husband’s desire and teach me not to desire sex so much. I am trustworthy. I am responsible with money, time, my husband’s feelings, our home and the resources God has given to us. I consciously work to do good to my husband no matter what happens. I don’t worry about the future.  I take my needs and concerns to God and my husband and I leave the weight of the problems there and trust God and my husband to figure things out.  I say what I want and what I believe is best.  I share my perspective with God and my husband.  Then I rest in God’s love and peace, trusting His wisdom.  And I rest in my husband’s love – trusting God to lead me through him. I live a life according to the 7 virtues in the Bible.

Chastity (vs lust) – I am devoted entirely to God and my husband; I do not make friends with anyone that would bring doubt to my husband. I keep myself pure in cleanliness and thought, keep free of hostility and corruption. I embrace moral wholeness.

Temperance (vs. gluttony) – I practice moderation, justice, self-control, and prudence in action, and attend to the needs of my husband.

Charity (vs. greed) – I practice self-sacrifice, generosity, and charity to my husband. I have agape love for my husband. I show love for God at all times and glorify Him.

Diligence (vs, sloth) – I will not give up working at all times to be my best for God’s glory, His will and for my husband. I will hold up my convictions and be careful in my actions and works of ethics.

Patience (vs. wrath) – I practice moderation and endurance in patience and dignity; I will resolve conflicts peacefully and show mercy to my husband and others. I am stable in actions and thought.

Kindness (vs. envy) – I emulate God showing compassion, charity, empathy, trust and friendship to my husband at all times with a cheerful demeanor. I inspire kindness in others. I forgive others and treat them as I would like to be treated.

Humility (vs. pride) – I behave in a modest manner, selfless and respectful to my husband. I self examine regularly to correct wrong thoughts and behaviors. I am courageous at heart to graciously accept sacrifices and undertake tasks that are difficult, tedious and less than popular. I show restraint and control fear. I keep my promises. I am trustworthy.

Highlighted and italicized and quoted text from http://peacefulwife.com/2013/07/04/day-4-of-the-respect-dare-a-godly-purpose-statement/
Leave a Reply

